DSL Student Receives Lilian Baylis Award 2024

The Lilian Baylis Awards are presented to students from each of the ten accredited London Drama Schools who are nominated by their school. Dedicated to the memory of Lilian Baylis (1874-1937) who ran The Old Vic Theatre from 1912 until her death. Her other achievements included assisting in the development of The Old Vic National Theatre; Sadler’s Wells Opera, which became the English National Opera; Sadler’s Wells Ballet, which became Birmingham Royal Ballet; and the Royal Ballet School.

The awards are designed to help the students complete their courses without undue financial stress and are presented at an annual award ceremony in June at The Old Vic Theatre by kind permission of the management.

The students nominated show a potential to make a significant contribution to the development of theatre and are in the second year of a three-year course.

The 2024 recipient from DSL is Charlotte Wallis. Her grant was presented by actor, David Harewood, who was RADA’s nominee for the Lilian Baylis award in 1987.

The awards were announced in The Stage on 30th May and you can read more here.

Lilian Baylis Duo 2024